Book Releases / Books

All the Questionable Shit I’ve been reading

I was tagged for this by Uncle Evey, the Terrific and Terrible. Peep her post HERE! Eve has great taste in books and, like, I’d PROBABLY be saying that even had she NOT listed my book as her guilty pleasure. *obvvvvvious wink* But don’t take my word for Evey’s terrific terror, lurk her twitter cave. She’s always hanging around @EveyJacob

So, I’m not sure if these books are an accurate representation of what I’m reading now, what KIND of reader I am now, or the one I used to be. But I tried to do this honestly. It also goes without saying that I answered the questions. Had you asked me which book had the best sex scenes, my favorite tropes, fetishes, et cetera et cetera, this would have been a different post. A more filthy post. (Also realized I didn’t swear—much—in this post. Meeeowza.)

1. Which book, most recently, did you not finish?

There was so much wrong with this book to me. So many people loved it and I picked it up thinking it would be great research since Archer is mute and signs in order to communicate, and since I’m writing a Deaf LI in one of my next three books. I just couldn’t deal with how much the author got wrong re: signing in general.

 

 

 

 

2. Which book is your guilty pleasure?

The best thing about my book friends and my online writer friends is that they never make me feel like what I’m reading is a guilty pleasure. I get what the question is saying though, so, basically: Any book by JR Ward. Her books – BDB, specifically – are so formulaic. But predictable, they are not. Which is so fucking weird to me. I rarely, if ever, read urban fantasy anymore, but this bitch FLOCKS to the nearest bookstore when JR drops one.

 

 

3. Which book do you love to hate?

Oh, man. I try not to hate on ANY book, because I think it’s kind of ridiculous to waste time hating books when you could just be reading better ones. DNF and move the fuck on. Don’t say you LOVE TO HATE a book but keep reading it under the guise that you’re just doing it for the hell of it. Anyway, I definitely laughed AT – not with – Laurelin Paige’s FIXED series. I read that entire fucking trilogy and I never stopped laughing. Why? The MC is a bonafide stalker and THAT, my friends, is what comedy is.

 

 

 

4. Which book would you throw into the sea?

Probably any of these: https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/15875272-candice?shelf=dnf

5. Which book have you read the most?

I don’t understand the question. No, srsly. Which series? Because for sure it’d have to be J.R. Ward’s BDB series. That series is 13 books deep and I own them all.

6. Which book would you hate to receive as a present?

Nothing against it. I believe, but—seriously, just do not fucking ever.

7. Which book could you not live without?

Karen Marie Moning’s FEVER series. Believe it or not, I spent so much time getting lost inside my head with this book. I read this book when I was around 19. This was the same period when my mom kicked me out. This was the same period when I experienced my first serious attraction to another girl. This was the same period when I started writing my very first book.

 

 

 

 

trylle8. Which book made you the angriest?

I read Amanda Hocking before she was agented and trad pubbed. I fucking hated the twists in the romance of this series. Did I read the entire trilogy? Yep. Sure did. I seethed the entire way through it. Why did I keep reading? Not sure. But I did. There HAD TO have been SOMETHING that kept me there.

 

9. Which book made you cry the most?

It’s a toss-up between TFiOS and BORROWED TIME: AN AIDS MEMOIR (which feels like a stupid comparison, because Paul Monette is brilliant and undervalued as a writer and a person. But the facts are what the facts are, y’know?)

 

 

 

 

10. Which book cover do you hate the most?

LOLOLOL I literally loathe every Nicholas Sparks White-People-Almost-Kissing cover ever in the history of ever.

 

 

 

 

If they’re up for the challenge, I’m tagging Adrianne Russell (whose MS I’m still waiting to hit my hands *nudgehintcoughchoke*) and B.A. Wilson (whose book appetites are always fun to follow on Goodreads)!

One thought on “All the Questionable Shit I’ve been reading

Leave a Reply

