90 Day Writing Challenge / Mad Writers Club / Writing

#90DayWritingChallenge Check-in: Weeks IV, V, VI

#90DayChallenge

#MadWritersClub Check-In: Weeks 4 – 6 (Yeah. I know.)

I know this is… delayed. But I’ve had a lot going on. (I know how that sounds, because “I’ve had a lot going on” sounds a lot like a line my last boyfriend used to use on me constantly.)

Why didn’t you call me and tell me you weren’t coming then?
I’ve had a lot going on.

Why didn’t you grab my hand before I lost my grip and slipped off the cliff ledge?
Baby, I’ve had a lot going on.

Why is it that I’m always finding you laying around in your underwear, doing nothing?
Candice, please. Not now. I’ve had a lot going on.

…Well, at least mine is true. But I’m not bitter or anything.

Anyway, short and sweet, shall we?

Week 4

The end of our first month of our challenge! How much have you accomplished in the first month? And, why do you write?

I actually finished the first month doing incredibly fucking well. My goal was to finish a draft edit and send it to my CP and also to complete 10 or 12k on a new WiP. I’m pleased to say that my CP has my draft edit in her hands and I’m 6k in on the new thing! #PartyNBullshit! ;D

Why I write is a question every writer asks themselves. I don’t even know why I do. It could have something to do with the fact that I really enjoy reading and I really enjoy it when I’m so moved by an author’s words. I kind of want that connection with others for myself. I enjoy the finished product too and the sense of accomplishment. I also enjoy knowing that writing is not something everyone can do. I believe everyone can be a writer, but I don’t believe everyone can be a GOOD writer. It sounds like a bitchy thing to say, but I believe it wholeheartedly. I think it’s something you’re either gifted with or not. And I don’t think you can be TAUGHT to write well either. Trust me—I have a BA in creative writing. Some of our workshops were insanely painful to sit through.

So, maybe I write because it’s a way to be set apart.

Week 5

How much are you closer to your goal (hopefully, 1/3 of the way)? For those who are working on a novel, one month should be more than enough time to become familiar with a character. So, please introduce the main character, villain, or your favorite character~
If it’s not a novel nor do you wish to share your novel at the moment, how do you flesh a character? A villain?

Alright, so I’m going to introduce a character on the new thing because I love her.

Her name is Tasia – Taze, for short, and I’m going to be honest and say her looks are based on every girl I’ve ever been physically attracted to. If all their looks had been combined, they’d net me Taze. She looks a little like this:

Tasia aka. TAZE

Thing is, she’s incredibly hard to write. I have no idea how to get inside her head, which is totally hilarious and ironic, and it’s kind of making me mad. LOL. She’s a tough cookie to crack and every time I try, she kind of scathingly glares at me and says, “HA. What. You thought I’d make this EASY on you? You’re off your fucking rocker.” Taze is kind of a bitch, unintentionally, so it makes sense that she’s not really treating me any differently.

Week 6

How much have you accomplished now that we’re close to the midway point? And, what do you do when your current writing project no longer holds your attention like it used to? What do you do when that shiny new idea cries out for you?

Pulling forward everything I just mentioned, I’m more than halfway to my goal and in fact am going to push my goal to ~20k instead of my original 10. Fuck me running.

This project was actually a pretty major Plot Bunny for me. The only thing I could do was take notes as I tried to finish WHERE WORDS FAIL. The thing about WWF is that I DO love it. I always have. But it did kind of lose some of my interest when I started to feel like it wasn’t good enough. I can’t say what drove me to finish other than the fact that I WANTED TO FINISH.

That’s what one of my favorite writers says about writers’ block. You just keep writing and don’t worry about if it’s bullshit. Push and push and push until you can either move onto the next thing or beat the shit out of your block.

So that’s what I did. I wrote through the blocks. I wrote when I felt like it was shit writing. I wrote when I felt myself losing interest. I just kept on going.

Sounds a lot like life, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

