On Writing / Writing

My Muhhhfuckin’ Writing Process

Alright, babies. Please adjust your laptop tables to the upright and locked position. It’s not going to be a bumpy ride because honestly, I’ve been drinking and we don’t drink and drive, dig? That’s reckless.

Anyway, this is that blog hop thing-o that’s infecting the TWC (Twitter Writing Community). I’ve been tagged a couple times in this. Once by the super witty, WiP-tease (COS I WANNA READ HER WIPs RINAOO) of a human Adrianne Russell and a few weeks before that by my mutual American Horror Story partner-in-crime (and fellow Mad Writer) Eve Jacob.

(Adrianne’s Writing Process Blog & Evey’s Writing Process Blog)

So here’s hoping I don’t fuck shit up (much…)

WHAT AM I FUCKING WORKING ON?

Right now I’m doing this really fucked up tango with the revision for WHERE WORDS FAIL. I feel like I’ve done this spiel 100 times before (and not just for my relatives who want to know if I’m going to be the next Toni Morrison), but WWF is about Cash. Cash is a musician. Cash likes Rhyan. Rhyan likes computers and sex and feminism. And Cash. Sometimes. Anyway, it’s New Adult Contemp Rom and it’s killing me slowly. (*unnnf hurts so good*)

 

HOW DOES MY FUCKING WORK DIFFER FROM OTHERS OF ITS GENRE?

I had a crying jag about this very question. It was like a couple days ago, actually. But then I asked this girl who is a friend (maybe?) of mine and she said, after reading about half of what I have revised that what stands out to her is that my stuff seems different from everything else in the genre because my MS is actually humorous. Which is rad as shit because I feel like I’m nothing if I’m not funny.

Other ways my thing is different:
– There is a college campus involved, but not everyone is a college student. My MC is a dropout, actually.
– Sex is not vilified or praised. Sex is seen as sex and that is it.
– My MS involves a lot of the rule of 3.
– My MS is conversational with the reader.

I don’t know. That never seems like enough “differentness” for me, so I’m still working on it.

 

WHY THE FUCK DO I WRITE WHAT I DO?

This is a stage of my life (the New Adult stage) that seems to have changed me the most. I think most people experience the greatest amount of change in who they are around the end of their high school careers. For me, it’s been about the last year of college (when I started to understand my gender and sexuality better) and all subsequent time after that. I like to write about the changes people experience. That’s what NA is to me, so that’s what I write.

Also, the NA I write lets me curse like a motherfucker. Free reign, y’all!

HOW DOES YOUR MOTHERFUCKING WRITING PROCESS WORK?

It doesn’t. I answered this in a vlog last week. Basically, I don’t have a writing process. I don’t plot, I don’t outline, the most I do is create a WiP playlist and jot down a few notes here and there when they so strike me.

It’s probably going to bite me in the ass at some point but WHATEVER FOREVER.

Anyway, that’s the end of this bullshit. You’re free to go. I haven’t tagged anyone new in this thing because it seems like everyone I might tag has already been tagged and done this.

xo -Cam

One thought on “My Muhhhfuckin’ Writing Process

Leave a Reply

