90 Day Writing Challenge / Mad Writers Club / On Writing / Writing

#90DayWritingChallenge: Week Fucking 1

90 DAY WRITING CHALLENGE: WEEK 1

INTRO POST—aka, say whattup to all da homies and talk about yo shit a little.

That’s what this post is for, right? Yeah, okay, good. Cool.

So, I’m doing the 90 Day Writing Challenge (#90DayWritingChallenge on Twitter) for a few reasons. (BEWARE: I swear A-FUCKING-LOT and this post will inevitably contain a vast majority of the more colorful ones.)

1. WHERE WORDS FAIL (WWF)

That’s the name of my baby. No, sillies. Not like my baby. But, like, my baby. It’s my latest project, a new adult contemporary romance about a singer named Cash. (Cash is so swoon-worthy, boys and girls.) We’ve been here before, but, essentially, my goal is to polish up my thus-far-“completed”-first draft—BECAUSE HOLY FUCKING HOOKER YOU GUYS, DRAFT 1 IS SUCHHHH SHIT RIGHT NOW. LIKE LITERAL SHIT, YOU WOULD LAUGH SO FUCKING HARD AT IT.

There are plot holes like nobody’s business and half the plot points are bullshit and forced because I fucked up and wrote the majority of it during Nano2013. Which brings me to my next point.

2. NANOWRIMO 2013 FUCKED ME OVER

Yeah, basically. NaNoWriMo (we’re all familiar with NaNo, right?) is one challenge that’s about getting the words down. It’s about getting as many words down in 30 days as you can and because of that, I shoved a FUCKTON of words into this work in progress that have no business being there. I learned the hard way that NaNo isn’t for everyone. It is damn sure not for me. It just doesn’t support my writing style, so I probably won’t be doing that shit anymore. Major props to those of you who maneuver into beast mode and tackle that thing every year. My goal for this challenge is to undo, re-do, just plain fucking DO whatever I can to fix the mess that NaNo incited.

3. The Mad Writers Club (Track our progress using #MadWritersClub on Twitter)

I know some pretty cool fuckers. Like, these people are a glorious combination of the greatest AND WORST people you will ever meet. I swear to Jesus. THE GREAT AND POWERFUL Christiney proposed this challenge and I couldn’t say no. It’s a great opportunity to get some shit done and I’m glad to be doing this. They inspired me to dive into this shallow pool headfirst (they’re lovely humans—MOSTLY—I promise).

To stalk their progress, see their weekly updates, follow their 90 Day journeys, and fall in love with each of them, check them out on the Twitter and via their blogs.

  1. Christiney Song (@ChristineySong) – Her Introductory Post
  2. Evey Jacob (@EveyJacob) – Her Introductory Post
  3. S. E. Lehenbauer (@SELehenbauer) – Her Introductory Post
  4. Jason Cantrell (@CantrellJason)
  5. Emily Toynton (@emmyshine)
  6. Jenna Devillier (@jenna_devillier)
  7. Candice Montgomery (@CandiceAmanda) (OH SHIT, THAT’S ME, Y’ALL!)
  8. Jim (@NexusWriter)
  9. Cee Martinez (@DazedPuckBunny)
  10. Allison Grace (@missyallydums97)
  11. Jessica (@FlytoFiction)
  12. Isabella Leigh (@BellaLeighwrite)
  13. Kaelyn Morton (@Kaelyn_Morton)
  14. Travis (@GarnerWrites)

GOALS ‘N SHIT

– Clear off my writing desk (The photo below [please disregard the alcohol bottles] should actually tell you a lot about me and my writing process).

This beautiful fucking disaster...

– Polish revise, edit, etc. ALL OF WWF draft 1.

– Outline my next new shiny and complete at least 10k words on it.

It may not seem like a lot, but it is, for me. I’m happy with my goals where they are. With all the work and dance classes I’m co-teaching, and all the drinking I plan to do, those are as lofty as my goals are going to fucking get.

Welcome to 90 days of chaos and writing mayhem, fuckers.

GIRD YOUR LOINS, HERE WE COME.

3 thoughts on “#90DayWritingChallenge: Week Fucking 1

  1. Pingback: #MadWritersClub – Week 1 | christiney writes

Leave a Reply

