Uncategorized

I’m Cool, I Swear!

So straight, simple and to the point?

Recently I lost my only two Cps (Critique Partners). This wasn’t because of anything I or they did.

(I promise I have their permission to share these stories).

One of them is at a point in her life where she thinks focussing on her personal relationships, her job, her family, need to be the only things she worries about. I couldn’t agree with her more. If I had all that stuff in my life vying for center stage, I’d have to rethink some things, too.

I adore her and I’m sad to be losing her for however long this needs to be the case, but I’m glad she’s getting things in order.

CP #2 is a little different. She, like so many of us, is feeling really beaten down when it comes to writing. She doesn’t think she’s very good at it, despite anything I’ve told her, and she doesn’t want to do it anymore. I’ve tried, constantly, to change her mind about this decision. But she’s happier without “the stress” of writing. She says it’s not what she loves to do anymore.

That, more than anything, makes me sad. I don’t know what I’d do or who I’d be without writing. So, the fact that she’s finding a life where she can function without it is really surreal for me. Like, at any time, it’s possible that I could wake up one morning and develop the same feelings for writing.

It’s a rough craft. And non-writers may not know this, but you have to have thick skin to get anywhere in this world. Also, writing is mentally taxing. WE ALL KNOW THIS.

I can’t even tell y’all how many times I’ve broken down after writing a scene, whether it’s my characters moving me, or frustration at how difficult a scene is to revise or to get right or to put down on the page.

SO—MY QUESTION IS THIS.

I’d like to find a new CP (or CPs, if that’s a thing).

I’ve been to the forums at ABSOLUTE WRITE where you can find them, but most times, that’s not something that works out too well. Because I think, for a CP relationship to work well, you have to have similar ideals and styles of writing.

I mean, what I write is mostly New Adult and Romance. If I found a CP that ALSO writes Romance, it COULD work out fine, or it could bomb. If my CP writes romance that isn’t as sexually descriptive as mine, that’s a problem. If my CP writes Romance characters who DON’T use the word “Fuck,” THAT’S A PROBLEM (because y’all, I swear like a motherfucking goddamned sailor).

So I’m looking for new CPs. But I don’t even know where to begin. I’m looking for suggestions. Hints, tips, points in the right direction. Do you know anyone who’s looking?

Maybe that person and I could exchange samples? Honestly, I feel like I’m putting out my dating profile, whoring myself out somehow—which, let’s be honest, is fine.

Anyway. Know anyone looking for a new CP?

HERE is one of my writing samples. HERE is another one.

Anyone interested can find me on Twitter at @CandiceAmanda.

Fingers crossed! x

Leave a Reply

